Crime Victims Reparations Program
Updated March 2017 Fact Sheet PDF
The Arkansas Crime Victim Reparations Program, administered by the Office of the Attorney General on behalf of the Crime Victims Reparations Board, provides financial compensation to victims who have suffered personal injury or death as the result of violent crime.
Eligible victims may qualify for up to $10,000 for medical care, counseling, lost wages, funeral expenses, crime scene clean up, or loss of support for dependents of deceased victims. Victims suffering catastrophic injuries may qualify for up to $25,000. Eligible victims may be awarded reparations regardless of whether there has been an arrest or conviction related to the crime.
The Sexual Assault Reimbursement Program allows evidence to be collected after a sexual assault has been committed without the victim bearing the burden of the expense. It pays for ambulance services and medical or legal examinations.
Victims may apply for compensation by submitting an application to the Attorney General’s office. Applications are available from the Attorney General’s office or from Arkansas’ 28 elected prosecutors.
These programs are funded by fees collected from criminal offenders and a federal grant through the Victims of Crime Act, administered by the U.S. Department of Justice.
Those eligible to apply:
- the victim of a violent crime
- the minor child of an eligible victim
- the spouse, parent, sibling, or grandparent of an eligible victim
- a non-immediate family member who resided in the same household as a deceased victim
- an individual who discovers a homicide victim's body
- a person injured by an act of terrorism outside the United States
- an Arkansas resident victimized in another State that does not have a compensation program
The criteria to receive compensation:
- the incident occurred after July 1, 1988, in Arkansas and was reported to authorities within 72 hours (minors excluded)
- the application was filed within one year of the incident
- injury or death was as a result of a criminal act
- the victim or claimant does not have a criminally injurious felony conviction
- the victim's conduct did not contribute to the incident
- the victim did not engage in an illegal activity
- the victim was not incarcerated at time of the incident
- injuries from motor vehicle use involve intent to inflict harm, hit and run, or violate the Omnibus DWI Act
Your Rights as a Victim
Crime victims have these rights:
- to be present at any proceeding where the defendant has a right to be present
- to submit victim impact statements
- to basic privacy
- to be informed
To ensure your rights are protected:
- designate someone to receive information about the criminal matter
- inform the proper authorities of your representative's name and contact information
- maintain all related written correspondence
- cooperate with the prosecution
The program’s administrative staff at the Attorney General’s office is responsible for conducting investigations on all submitted claims. The Arkansas Crime Victims Reparations Board then determines which claims are to be paid and how much may be awarded.
Claims are limited to $10,000 or $25,000 in the case of catastrophic injury. In 2016, nearly 2,000 victims of violent crime were awarded nearly $3 million by the board.
For More Information
Arkansas Crime Victim Reparations Program
Office of the Attorney General
323 Center Street #200
Little Rock, AR 72201
Phone: (501) 682-1020 or 1-800-482-8982